coloured lips...how to do the rest?

kimmy

i usually wear nude lips, but i'm trying to work some colour into my looks as far as the lips go.

mac lingerie
mac pink maribu
milani candy apple

those are my three main coloured lipsticks. but...i'm not sure how to do my eye makeup. i don't want to overdo the makeup you know. i guess i just need some pointers on wearing coloured lips since i'm new to this coloured lip thing
smiles.gif
help?

Nico.

A lot of people say you can't wear strong eyes with strong lips. I disagree. Subtle eyes are definitely safe with bold lips, but I'll take a brown smoky eye with red lips over the classic red lip/black liner combo any day. The secret is to make sure all your colors compliment each other. It could be risky to have a million different colors going on, as it might end up looking too busy, but even that isn't true in all cases; I'm sure there are several people on Specktra who could pull off pretty much anything they wanted.

The bottom line: You'll have to experiment to see what works for you. OK, so maybe I didn't actually help... Good luck anyway.

kimmy

thanks
smiles.gif
i'm gonna have to try smoky browns. specially with lingerie, that should look hella sweet
greengrin.gif

gambitlizard

I agree...
I'm pale, so I have to have something going on with my eyes, even with a strong lip. I like soft, smokey bronze or gold or really light browns with a strong lip.

blueyedlady87

I'm a big fan of *either* lighter eyes and dark lips, OR darker eyes and light lips. Some people just look clownish when they do both heavy. However I have seen some people (like SonRisa) pull it off beautifully! You could do a smoky eyes and light pink lips (like Lingerie). For darker colors I would recommend maybe light eyes with dark liner and then a bloder color on your lips. HTH!!

scrapbookromance