in need of advice...

xiahe

I'm still very new to make-up...i'm almost 18 (on thursday, in fact) and i never really got into make-up until *NOW*...i'm mostly obsessed with eye make-up. i don't think i really need powder / foundation (maybe powder to take away the shinyness on my skin at times). Here's a few pics of me (sorry if these pics are large, i don't know how to resize them)

DSCN0689.jpg

^ this one's from prom (may 2005); please excuse my bf, he's not very photogenic. XD

the next two are from homecoming (sept 2005)

homecoming05014.jpg

homecoming05016.jpg

you can't really see my make-up very well in my homecoming pics...all i used was some really cheap silver e/s (i think it was NYC) with a little bit of Wet n' Wild Mega Sparkle loose glitter and some Prestige waterproof black eyeliner along the lower lash line.

First of all, how do you reduce redness? If it involves wearing powder / foundation, well, i have no idea how to choose the right one. my mom wears make-up but she's not very big on it (usually she just wears mascara and occasionally some eyeshadow).
Second, I'm in desperate need of brow help. if any of you ladies could come up with a brow shape that would look great on me, please let me know. otherwise i'm thinking about getting them professionally waxed. i'd much rather tweeze them myself, though.
Lastly: any MAC recs (eyeshadow colors, lipglasses, etc) would be great. I'm looking for colors that look good on me (and so far, silver, purples, and pinks are the only colors I have found to look good on me). I have a VERY tiny MAC collection (Swish e/s, Parrot e/s, a 266 brush and Blacktrack Fluidline) - but this is what happens with my crappy-paying job. =) but since my birthday's coming up, i'd like to get all the recs so then I can put everything on my wishlist.

Spam.n.Rice