Pharmacist?

_tiffany

I've been looking into becoming a pharmacist on the suggestion of my mom. The medical field is something I want to get into because it seems to make sense since there's high demand and it helps people, which is what I essentially want to do.

However, it would take six years to go to school to become a pharmacist. I already went to school for four years and I feel like I'd be starting all over and that my first degree was a waste. I majored in law and justice because I liked the classes and I wanted to finish school with a B.A., but now I feel like it's useless.

Is anyone here going to become a pharmacist or already is one? I don't really know what to do, on one hand I know I could go back to school and graduate with a specific career but on the other hand, I feel like that means I wasted a lot of money and years of my life on something I'm not even going to use...I hate being so indecisive.

MACATTAK

I'm kinda in the same boat you are, where what I originally am in school for is not where I think I will end up. I don't think it's going to work out. I don't think education is ever a waste, but I do understand where you are coming from. I'm sure you might be able to transfer over some general classes, so you don't have to completely start all over again. You have to do what makes you happy, and getting into a job just because you have the schooling for it, does not necessarily mean it will bring fulfillment in your life.

captodometer

I myself am a veterinarian. My cousin is a registered nurse, and a good family friend is currently in pharmacy school.

If I had it all to do over again, I don't know that I would go to vet school again. I don't see myself as a vet in 20 years. But the training has given me a multitude of career options; the money will give me the chance to take 2 years off and backpack around the world. So I think it was worth it.