recs for smokey eyes on pale skin?

lost in hollywood

hello! as you can see, i'm new to this forum (big time lurker, though ;P)

I'm not really new to makeup, but I don't really get to experiement a whole lot. I just know simple stuff like applying concealer and putting on eyeliner & mascara. I've bought a few eyeshadows here and there, and sadly only have been liking beautiful iris and swish. Alot of things don't suit me, so it's kind of hard to pick colors. What I'm looking for are colors to create a smokey eye but aren't too shimmery/glittery, but won't make me look like I got beat up or anything since I'm very light and have kind of a small eyelid (not asian eyes, though). Techniques are VERY welcome, as I am a beginner in need. Heh.

Brands can be anything, preferably MAC or something drugstore. =]

i appreciate anyone's help! TIA.
-diana

caRpediEm17

umm actually smokey eyes dont always have to be black or brown...you can always use like a variety of colors to achieve a smokey eye, its juSs how you apply everything...like how i do my smokey eye...sometimes ill use pink or teal or purple...and ill juSs apply it on my lid and blend it out to juSs below my brow bone..when i blend it i make it so there is a lot of color on my lid and then blended out so it gets lighter and lighter...then i juSs line my eyes with a black kohl eyeliner...after that i get some either like gray or dark brown eyeshadow and blend the liner out (do the liner and eyeshadow on the bottom too)...umm since you fairskinner though i would recommend a brown eyeliner that can be blended easily and then like a dark brown eyeshadow...umm im definitely not an expert on this so i hope it helps a lil bit...sorry i dont know what colors best work with fair skin though...i know you said you dont experiment very much, but i definitely think you should...thats how i figured out what looked best on me...HTH!

pumpkincat210