Too "Drag Queen"?

YvetteJeannine

MODERATOR: COULD YOU PLEASE MOVE THIS TO A MORE APPROPRIATE FORUM..I DIDN'T REALIZE WHEN I POSTED THIS WASN'T TE BEST PLACE FOR IT..THANKS

I am pretty new to buying MAC and trying to experiment w/ new MU looks. I've always been pretty tame (read: boring) w/ MU looks in the past so I thought I'd try to spice things up. Since I'm new to this kind of thing, I'm sure I also have the ability to really make myself look like an ass.

A few weeks ago I was at Nordstrom at the MAC counter. Even though there's a MAC store at the Westfarms mall I go to the Nordy MAC counter because the associates are more attentive there, and more willing to help me come up w/ new looks. Well, I've been really wanting to buy "Black Tied" e/s and try something new. I was looking at some icy whites or a frosty nude to go with it. The MA said it would look "too drag queen". Instead, she fixed me up with Embark, Saddle, and Naked Lunch and she did a smokey eye look with those. She said with my coloring (medium fair skin, blue eyes and red hair) those would look much, much better on me. I bought them, but.....I'm STILL looking at Black Tied and longing for it. I swear I'm falling in love with that shadow!

Now, for my question: What do you ladies think? Was the MAC MA right? Or, is there a way to make BT e/s look good on me (with or w/o a frosty white or frosty neutral). I'm sorry..maybe I have NO idea what I'm doing, but I'm thinking if done correctly, a look like that (BT with a frost) could look really cool. Will somebody please set me straight on this (and please don't be too critical if you think the MA was right and I'm being really stupid). Thanks a mill, ladies. Love ya all!!

FemmeNoir

Go for it! Just play around at home. Milani Storm is very similar to Black Tied, so if you could try that and save money. If you don't have Milani in your area let me know and I can CP.
smiles.gif