Can you turn down perm position?

Honesty0410

Hey everyone,
Has anyone turned down a perm position interview in favor of waiting for another one. Here is my situation. I am currently a freelancer for MAC, and have been offered to interview for a MAC counter. However, that certain MAC counter is about 1 1/2 hr drive from my house. I wanted to turn down the interview, and continue freelancing in hopes that one of the other counters, all of the others are 1/2hr drive from my house, might have an opening one day. I currently freelance a couple times at the MAC that is far from my house, and I'm fine with it because it's only several times a month. But I don't know about becoming permanent there just because of the 3 hour commute. Do you think it would look bad if I turn down a perm interview?

Chrystia

I think it depends on a variety of circumstances. Your concern about the commute is completely understandable and it is definitely not easy. I drive 40 minutes to my counter and that seems long to me, never mind your hour and half commute. I would explain that the commute is simply too long for a permanent position commitment, but thank the manger and let her know that you are glad to be considered and would love to continue freelancing at the location meanwhile. Also let her know that you are interested in a permanent position with MAC eventually. She may put in a good word for you with the managers at the counters that are closer to you. That's how I was hired actually. I was a freelancer and a position opened up at a different store than my usual freelance counter. But the counter I usually freelanced at recommended me immediately.

Use your good judgment .But positions do get turned down sometimes. I turned down a position in the downtown counter because the parking is expensive in that area and there are no free lots anywhere.

MissPanther