Freelance Makeup artist Charge (any event)

RayRay85

Hey there, I wasn't sure where to put this question, so I hope this is the right place.
smiles.gif

I'm thinking of starting to get into freelance make-up. I usually do it on my friends for free, and they love it. I would love to be able to perhaps earn a little extra money (I'm a poor student, lol) by freelancing around campus or something. I was just wondering, what do you guys charge (sorry if that is a personal question), or what would you recommend for me to charge. I know I am just starting out, so I am sure that factors into it as well. Also, there won't be any transportation costs, so keep that in mind.

Also, I mainly use MAC products, so I would love to get a discount, especially since if I begin to freelance, I'll be spending a lot more there. Would I qualify for the MAc pro card or not? I don't want to abuse the system or anything if I am not truely deserving of one. If you guys think I will qualify, do you have suggestions for what to submit to them as proof? I'll have business cards and flyers, and of course copies of receipts, but I'm not sure if that is enough, so all suggestions are welcome. Thanks
smiles.gif

brandi

hmmm... you can apply for the card using a business card and client contract! just go to macpro.com and it tells you everything you need to know.....

as for the charging i guess it really depends.... is it going to be a prom, a wedding a group or individual?

farra712

I have been freelancing for a couple of years, but this is what I usually do to figure out what to charge: