Guide to identifying fake Pro Pans *with pictures*

ThePowderPuff

I am no expert but having bought a fake Sketch Pro Pan on ebay, I have learned how to spot the fake Pro Pans. So I made a little guide with photos.

To sum up, the fakes are really close to the real thing. It took me a while to find out it was fake. The main differences are:

The magnet on the fake is slightly thicker than the real ones.
The see thru plastic on the front of the package is hard and thick on the fake, where it's soft and very thin on the genuine.
The texture ( at least on Sketch, which is the only one I have bought a fake of) was very soft and a lot creamier and with less shine than the genuine.

Let me go through it in more details now. The fake is on your left, and the genuine is on your right:

First the whole package. To be honest it's very very difficult to see the difference on the outside on the package. I really can't tell which is which. But if you look at the clear plastic you know. You can see MACs is very thin and soft and it bents. The fakes are hard thick plastic.

fakemac1.jpg

On the back of the package I am not experienced enough to really see on the label if it's genuine or not. They can look very different even if they're genuine, so we need someone more experience to give some information. But the batch code on my fake Sketch was A29. I don't know what the number on other fakes are, if it's all the same, so please don't rely on the batch code solely.

fakemac2.jpg

You really can't see on this picture (I apologize for the bad picture, my husband went out with our good camera), but the fake is more brown than the genuine sketch.

fakemac3.jpg

Here swatches on my hand with and without flash (again shame to my husband for going out with his new fantastic camera, and no I don't believe the fakes are dangerous for you, they're just cheap eyeshadows). The genuine is shinyer and smoother than the fake. The fake is quite grainy and dull.

fakemac6.jpg

fakemac5.jpg