I start tomorrow! I need all the advice I can get...

colorlvr

Hi all! I officially start my new job as a counter manager for Lancome TOMORROW (Sun, Jul 12) and although I am not new to the Beauty Industry, I am new to cosmetics.

As I said in a previous post, I am a licensed cosmetologist with over 10 years salon experience. I would love any advice y'all can give me, and am especially interested in:

*Learning the product before my offical training begins so I don't sound like a total idiot when selling products to people

*Finding "my style" as far as salesmanship goes - how do I sell successfully without being pushy or annoying??

*How do I get through my first few weeks when I really don't know what I'm doing?

*Any tips for beginners on applying makeup to peoples faces? I LOVE applying makeup, and I have been complemented often on my own makeup, but how do I translate that to working on someone elses face?

*Where can I refresh on the basics of makeup application - the right "colors" to use?

*How do I match foundation???? Is it the jawline still, or has that thinking changed??

Thanks all for your help!

VintageAqua

Congrats, you obviously have the knowledge already if you landed a management position! The main tip I have is just to be confident in what you're doing, this will translate to the customer and have any transaction go much smoother. "Fake it till you make it as they say".

As far the other advice, to learn the product I'd suggest first checking out the company's website, both on the retail and corporate levels since they often have different information to pull from. Normally each counter has a product knowledge manual (Mac's is ENORMOUS) so scan over that asap for common ingredients and tips. Check foundations especially for formulations as "oil-free", and suited for specific skintypes as most customers are the most inquisitive regarding skin products.