No makeup school training, what can I do?

bklynfemme

I can't afford to put myself thru makeup school right now due to my already fulltime job and class schedule. I love everything makeup and have a great passion for it. My friends tell me that I should do it professionally or start freelancing, or post ads and charge and etc. I have no professional experience and almost no one wants their mu done by a non professional or someone with hardly any experience.

does anyone have any tips or suggestions on how to break thru or tips on how to start a portfolio, or anything !
th_dunno.gif

slick

Don't worry, everyone has to start somewhere! The least you can do is take pictures of your own makeup (like eyeball shots and stuff) or do makeup on your friends and take pictures of that. Use those pics to start a Model Mayhem account, and from there you can find local photographers and models in your area who are also looking to build their portfolios. Often you can find trade work (TFP or Time For Prints) where you don't get paid, but you get copies of the pictures of your portfolio. HTH.

metal_romantic

I'd recommend practising on as many people as you can- young and mature, different skin tones and races, different facial shapes, hair colours, eye colours etc. Make sure you practise subtle and natural looks as well as creative, fun looks. When you've got this experience (and photos!) you'll feel a lot more confident in your ability and your confidence will certainly help you to "sell yourself" in a way that is natural rather than forced.
I'm studying makeup artistry now and this advice is my advice for myself too!
greengrin.gif

Good luck!

paperfishies