starting out..?

fashionjunkiexx

hi all, i was wondering if anyone could give me some advice..i really really want to get into freelancing (mainly doing bridal work etcc.). I believe i have a talent when it comes to doing makeup and im always making my friends let me practice on them to get used to different faces, but I'm pretty much self taught, is this okay? I'm always reading the threads on here to learn new techniques etc. is there any other free things that i can do to learn more? Also im saving up all the money that i can to start building up a kit, i'v not bought anything yet as i wanted to get some advice first, what basic things would you say i needed to get myself going on building my kit up, like just to start off, what should i buy first? Also any brands? i dont have loads of money to be buying all mac (even though i would LOVE to!) are there any other cheaper brands, available in the UK, that are still of a good quailty? Any other information would be so helpful, Sorry for all of the questions but makeup artistry is my absoloute passion, and im really serious about persuing it
smiles.gif

laceface

You definitely should research the aspiring mua threads already posted on specktra.

My advice is to check into some great, inexpensive brands like Ben Nye, RCMA & Graftobian. Whatever you do, don't be cheap when it comes to foundations. Check out camerareadycosmetics.com

It's absolutely fine to be self taught. You should also research some Pro classes because this will just fine tune your skills. Also research tutorials on YouTube, I found these extremely helpful when I first started.

Get a good portfolio going both online and offline.

My biggest advice, don't jump out into the professional world until your ready. You only give off one first impression and you want it to be a good one.

fashionjunkiexx

il definatly have a look at those threads, i didnt even know they existed, so thanks for telling me!