the perks of being a wallflower?

ductapemyheartt

i was just wondering how many of you have read the book. i can honestly say it is my favourite book of all time. it is sitting on my nightstand right next to me with ahighlighter on top of it. yes, i highlight my books. lol...i know...weird.

so, if you have read it, or want to, lets talk about it. i was hoping hte subject would catch the eye of people who have read it, so what did everyone think of it?

faifai

Aww, I remember that book, I read it when it first came out and then it became really popular when I was a freshman in high school. I liked it but somehow, the more people read it just to fit in, the less it seemed to mean anything to me personally. The more hyped it got, it was like the message of the book was being cheapened, as if it was suddenly trendy and "in" to be advertise how angsty and confused you were.

This was around the same time that being "indie" and "scene" started to be much cooler than being your typical athlete/cheerleader. I don't know why I react like that to books though, I felt the same when other relatively non-stereotypical books geared towards teens have had tremendous commercial success and suddenly everyone's talking about it.

coachkitten

I have not read the book but I am always looking for new things to read!
smiles.gif
It sounds like something I would like!

ductapemyheartt

Quote:
Originally Posted by faifai
Aww, I remember that book, I read it when it first came out and then it became really popular when I was a freshman in high school. I liked it but somehow, the more people read it just to fit in, the less it seemed to mean anything to me personally. The more hyped it got, it was like the message of the book was being cheapened, as if it was suddenly trendy and "in" to be advertise how angsty and confused you were.