what is college, anyway?

laurenmo88

im a freshman but my parents are always saying i need to get focused on college - yesterday i was practicing driving and i confessed to my mom that i dont even want to go to college and she said she understood, that im not "traditional"

i'm interested in makeup and music
i play bass and put makeup on
so, where does this leave me? what is college, anyway?

i feel like a loser sometimes...please help me out to better understand what i should be having goals for my after high-school life

Hawkeye

Well college isn't for everybody. I know I personally like to tell people (as I have seen this true) that it is getting harder and harder for people to get a job without a degree or some training in a specialized field (Plumbing etc).

College is a wonderful thing. It can open your mind up to so many things it's not funny. I mean it's a WHOLE different world (and much better!) than highschool!

My advice to you would be to just try it for a year and get into classes you may be interested in. You like bass-try to get into a music appreication class or an Art Class.

Once you get that lower level thing out of the way you can open up to more classes that are more entertaining
smiles.gif

If after a year you decide you hate it then stop going.
smiles.gif

Or if you really dont want to go to college try to go into a trade school at least for cosmetology or something like makeup you may be interested in.

OR take a year off and find ajob and see how you like it.

I know for me the reason I'm in school is because I took a year off and am working at home depot. I dont want to be there for the rest of my life but no one else will hire me (unless it's retail or a fast food joint) and I don't want to do that. BUT in your area it may be different.

So it's totally up to you. HTHS

Pink_minx