What was/is your major in college and what is your job now?

twinks

I'm having problems finding a direction in life and I was wondering what would be a job that I would love. I'm 18 btw and starting college soon... I'd like to go to cosmetology school but my parents are totally against the idea so off to college I go....
ssad.gif
Thanks to everyone who answers!

Indigowaters

I'm an admin. asst./secretary (whatever you want to call it) and I'm going for graphic design. I started with art, then business, now I found a happy medium
smiles.gif

Raerae

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinks
I'm having problems finding a direction in life and I was wondering what would be a job that I would love. I'm 18 btw and starting college soon... I'd like to go to cosmetology school but my parents are totally against the idea so off to college I go....
ssad.gif
Thanks to everyone who answers!

Lemme guess... They want you to get a degree so you can get a "real career" that will pay you enough $$$, not be a "poor" cosmotologist.

Sound familiar?

My parents did that same stuff with me. I ended up just dropping out of school 3 times, spending about $30,000 on several different degrees since I had no direction on what I actually wanted to do, since I was trying to do things they wanted, not what I wanted. I also never got my degree.

Why not show them a school like this: http://www.cinemamakeup.com/

If you look at their coursework, they offer coursework covering EVERYTHING you would need to get a job as a MUA in many different fields of makeup. When you talk cosmotology to your parents, they think the girl who works at MAC in the Nordies, not the people who do celebrity glamor makeup, or hollywood special effects. Tuition for some of their programs can cost up to 15k. They also offer campus dorms as well, so you can get the college expierence.